skip to main content

Dr. Myra Cox, 2022-23 President, announced today that the Yadkin Valley​​​​ United Fund has surpassed its goal of $200,000. Cox said the YVUF would be able to meet all its grant and scholarship commitments for 2023.​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

David Steelman, Executive Director, said that this was the best year ever for fundraising in the last eight years. Steelman said over 800​​​​ businesses and individuals have contributed to the final count of $213,000.​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

In other business, effective June 1, 2023, Denny Lazar, Elkin Vine Line, was elected President for2023-24. Mike Bovender, Surry Maintenance, will serve​​​as the President-ElectRichard Grissom, Angry Troll Brewing,Keith Stringer,​​​Six28 House, Nathan Sturgill, Edward Jones, Missy Shore, SECU,andJustin​​​ Roberts, First Community Bank, were elected as the five new boardmembers for 2023-24.   

​​The four scholarship winners were recognized at the May board meeting. They were Presley Barker, East Wilkes (UNCC), Ledger Blackburn, East Wilkes (NC​​​State),Olivia Ray, Starmount (UNCW), and Mia Reinhardt, Elkin (App State).  Each received $1,500.

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​The annual appreciation kickoff banquet will be held on Thursday, August 3, 2023, at the​​​​ Barn at Wall’s Pond. All donors of $600+, all board members past and present, and agency partners receiving grants for 2024 will be invited and encouraged to attend.